Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize 2023

Awarding of the Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize 

The Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize donated by Ulrike Detmers, will be awarded to an outstanding contemporary philosopher in honor of the philosopher Elisabeth of Bohemia (1618-1680).

The Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize is an award that celebrates the long history of women in philosophy. The prize is awarded to an international philosopher for outstanding services to research on women in the history of philosophy. It is the first prize to acknowledge the resarch into the history of women philosophers and and annually awarded in cooporation with the donator by Ruth Edith Hagengruber, director of the Center for the History of Women Philosophers and Scientists.


This years winner is Laura Aurora Benítez Grobet. She studied Philosophy at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), where last March she was appointed Emerita Professor, the highest possible distinction at UNAM. To describe Sor Juana as a “philosopher”, as Professor Benítez did before anyone else, is not a minor achievement: although for centuries Sor Juana’s writings have sparked the admiration of many a reader, hardly anyone noticed or took seriously the strictly philosophical dimension of her ideas. Going against the grain, Laura Benítez reconstructed Sor Juana’s conception on the nature of knowledge and, within it, the role of understanding and sensitivity. Hence, where others had only seen wit, beauty and psychological depth, Laura Benítez identified a complex epistemological framework, in tune and on a par with the greatest thinkers of her time. Find out more about Laura Aurora Benítez Grobet here.

Elisabeth of Bohemia (1618-1680) was the eldest daughter of Prince Friedrich V. of the Palatinate and his wife Elisabeth Stuart, a granddaughter of Maria Stuart. In her time Elisabeth of Bohemia was also a well-known European intellectual and one of the most famous correspondents of Descartes.

The winner, Laura Aurora Benítez Grobet, will be honoured and festively introduced by three laudatory speeches. The speakers are Alejandra Velázquez, Teresa Rodríguez and Aurelia Valero Pie. Finally, there was a congratulatory speech by the director of the Institute of Philosophy at UNAM, Dr. Juan Antonio Cruz Parcero.

The Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize Ceremony will be held via ZOOM on Wednesday, August 16, 2023 at 7 PM (UTC+2/ German Time), which is 11 AM (UTC-6/Mexican Time). The Ceremony can be viewed via the following link:


Meeting-ID: 927 2555 7688
Kenncode: 035156

For further questions contact: contact@historyofwomenphilosophers.org

Back to top  

You cannot copy content of this page