Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize 2019


Committee 2019:

Ruth Hagengruber (Paderborn University)
Sarah Hutton (University of York)
Sabrina Ebbersmeyer (University of Copenhagen)
Herta Nagl-Docekal (University of Vienna)

The Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize is a prize that celebrates the long history of women in philosophy. The prize is named in honour of the philosopher Elisabeth of Bohemia and is awarded to an internationally recognized philosopher for outstanding services to research on women in the history of philosophy. The Elisabeth von Bohemia Prize is the first prize awarded to acknowledge the history of women philosophers. The prize is donated by Ulrike Detmers, professor for economy at the Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences and includes prize money of 3000€.

This year, the Center for the History of Women Philosophers and Scientists celebrates the centenary of women’s right to vote in Europe. Therefore, the Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize will be awarded to a scholar working on a woman in the history of philosophy who dedicated her life to the fight for women’s equality.

The Call for Submissions is now closed. The award ceremony will take place at Paderborn University on Friday, August 2, during the Libori Summer School 2019.

back to top