Sie haben Javascript deaktiviert!
Sie haben versucht eine Funktion zu nutzen, die nur mit Javascript möglich ist. Um sämtliche Funktionalitäten unserer Internetseite zu nutzen, aktivieren Sie bitte Javascript in Ihrem Browser.

Époque Émilienne
Époque Émilienne - Philosophy and Science 1700 -1750
at the Center for the History of Women Philosophers
Show image information

Époque Émilienne

Époque Émilienne. Philosophy and Science 1700-1750
International and Interdisciplinary Conference, hosted by the
Center for the History of Women Philosophers and Scientists in Cooperation with the Société de Philosophie de Langue Française en Allemagne

Place: Paderborn University
Date: 5.-7. April 5.-7., 2017

After 2006 (Potsdam) and 2016 (Hannover), the Center for the History of Women Philosophers and Scientists hosted the third international and interdisciplinary conference “Époque Émilienne – Philosophy and Science 1700-1750” from Wednesday the April 5, until Friday, April 7, in cooperation with the Société de Philosophie de Langue Française en Allemagne.

The focus was put on the multi-faceted interactions in early 18th century philosophy and science which significantly shaped the early history of the European Enlightenment. In the last few years, the relevance of Émilie Du Châtelet as a central figure in this context has been increasingly recognized.

Following an impressive opening event in the historic Deelenhaus Paderborn, with opening speeches from Liselotte Steinbrügge (Bochum) and Gábor Boros Gábor (Budapest); Gianni Paganini (Vercelli) provided a convincing exposition of discussions of that time concerning hypothetical fallibilism long before Popper’s own falsificationism, by comparing Émilie Du Châtelet and Etienne Bonnot de Condillac.

Regarding the section of philosophy and history of physics, the lectures of Fritz Nagel (Basel) to Du Châtelet’s ideas about optics, Marco Stornis’s (Paris/Bologna) presentation on Newtonian attraction, Ansgar Lyssy’s (Munich) comparison of how Leibniz, Newton, and Du Châtelet dealt with the problem of causality, and Clara Carus’ (Freiburg) classification of Du Châtelet’s concept of time between Leibniz and Kant provided interesting re-evaluations of Du Châtelet’s philosophy.

From the multitude of contributions, one must also count, aside from those on theoretical philosophy and the history of science, those which created new insights and highlighted the position of women in the Early Enlightenment, such as the talks of Jacqueline Taylor (San Francisco) and Waltraud Ernst (Linz).

The highlight of the congress was , however, without question, the lecture of Natalia Speranskaya (St. Petersburg) on the Du Châtelet manuscripts in Voltaire’s Library, one of the most significant collections of the Russian National Library of Russia, St. Petersburg. The intended historical-critical edition and online presentation of the Du Châtelet-Manuscript Collection of Voltaire’s Library, St. Peters- burg in cooperation between the Center for the History of Women Philosophers and Scientists and the Russian National Library of Russia, St. Petersburg, is an immense challenge, which will doubtlessly allow the expectation of a continuation at further events, editing- and publication projects.

Invited speakers

Andreas Blank (Paderborn/Berlin), Gabor Boros (Budapest), Luka Boršić (Zagreb), Clara Carus (Cambridge, MA), Waltraud Ernst (Linz), Stefanie Ertz (Berlin), Aleksandra Gieralt (London, Ontario), Andrew Janiak (Durham), Ivana Skuhala Karasman (Zagreb), Ulla Kölving & Andrew Brown (Ferney-Voltaire), Ansgar Lyssy (Munich), Christophe Martin (Paris), Iulia Mihai (Ghent), Elena Muceni (Geneva), Fritz Nagel (Basel), Gianni Paganini (Vercelli), Osmo Pekonen (Helsinki), Tinca Prunea (Bucharest), Ana Rodrigues (Paderborn), Bertram Eugene Schwarzbach (Paris), Susana Seguin (Paris), Lieselotte Steinbrügge (Bochum), Marco Storni (Paris), Dieter Suisky (Berlin), Jacqueline Taylor (San Francisco), George Vlahakis (Patras)